I have decided to begin doing monthly favorites, each month will have a different theme. This month I have decided to do favorite beauty products. Since August is the eighth month, I will be discussing eight favorites. I split the eight products between drugstore favorites and high end favorites. Hope you enjoy this post!IMG_0980-2The first favorite I’m going to discuss is my Anastasia Beverly Hills Contour Kit in Medium/Tan. However the kit also comes in Light/Medium, which is basically great for any skin tone. This is a favorite for many reasons! I love this contour palette because it works for everyday and for bolder looks. This kit contains so many great color choices and one other nice thing is that the pans are refillable. I also love that the the ABH contour palette includes a highlight. I love youthful, fresh, dewey skin. My favorite part of this this kit is how buildable the product is. I like that this palette is not too powdery. It has great pigment, but it’s not so strong where you can’t decide to have a more subtle contour. If you’re just starting out with contouring, but still want something high end, I think the the ABH contour kit is awesome. It’s very easy to work with, and you can practice both chiseled and subtle contour looks.

IMG_1003-2My next product I want to share with you is my Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush in the color Exposed. I just started getting into blush, but I absolutely LOVE this one. This is another high end product, but definitely worth it. The blush has great pigmentation, and the color literally lasts all day long with little to no wear. I also love the packaging. The outside is very simple, but the product itself has an image pressed ontIMG_1004-2o it. It’s super cute, very pretty, very simple. My favorite shade in this blush so far is the color Exposed because it’s a great natural, nude shade. It gives my cheeks some warmth without being overpowering. This blush great for daytime looks. I say it’s close to warm matte bronzer. If you color swatch this blush, it doesn’t look like much, but on the face with the rest of your makeup it looks gorgeous. The color is beautiful, the product is amazing, definitely try out the Tarte Amazonian Clay blushes!

IMG_0990-2Next I will be discussing my BECCA x Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed Powder in the color Champagne Pop exclusively at Sephora. There are not enough wonderful things I can say about this highlight. For those of you who may not know who Jaclyn Hill is, she’s a makeup artist/YouTuber, she is well known for her love/use of highlights. Since discovering my new love for makeup, I have also discovered a new love for this dewey, fresh, youthful skin. The Champagne Pop Shimmering Skin Perfector does just that! It gives a very fresh, glowey appearance to my skin. If you like the sun kissed beachy vibe, this product is just for you. It’s a highlight that’s gorgeous on any skin tone. I love that it’s not too gold, not too white, not too peachy, it’s like the perfect combination of all of those. Sadly, it is a limited edition item, so hurry up and go get yours! I’ve been hoarding them, just about every time I’ve purchased from Sephora, I’ve bought one! They’re beautiful and give your skin a lovely healthy, glow!

img_0717-3The last high end beauty product favorite of this month is my Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in the color Ebony. If you’re familiar at all with Anastasia, or you have a love for those perfect brows, you probably know that she is the Queen of Brows. She has other great brow products that I love as well, however, the Brow Wiz is great for everyday. I love the Brow Wiz pencil for many reasons. One nice thing is it comes in several different shades, so it’s easy to find something that suits your needs. I also love the Brow Wiz because it has a small spooley on one end that is great for helping give the brows a more natural look, and also helping brush the brow hairs into place. I love that this product is a mechanical pencil, it has a retractable tip, so you can easily get at more product, there’s no need for a pencil sharpener. I also love that the tip is ultra-fine, helping me achieve more natural hair-like strokes with the product. It also is smudge-proof so there’s no issues with wear throughout the day. I also love using this product in conjunction with her DipBrow Pomade, when I want a bolder brow look. Overall, this is a great product, for everyday use, it’s also very easy to use, and there are no issues with weird fat looking lines like with a regular pencil.

Next I will be discussing my four favorite drugstore, discount retailer, and mid-range priced beauty products of this month.

IMG_1001-2Starting off I will talk about the Sephora Collection Unique Pink Lip Balm. I don’t place this within the high end products even though it is from Sephora, because it is the Sephora brand, and their products are more mid-range prices. This is a great moisturizing lip balm. It’s also great when you want something more nude, but don’t want to wear a lipstick. This lip balm is special because the color adjusts to your unique pH level. When applied to your lips, it adjusts and then creates a perfect shade of nude pink for your skin. If you want to achieve a little bolder look, simply apply another layer. I love this product because it keeps my lips moisturized and gives me just a hint of color. It’s great for the days when I don’t have on a full face of makeup, but still want some sort of color to my lips. You’ll never want regular lip balm again!

IMG_0996-2The next product I’m going to discuss is another mid-range priced item. It’s my AVON Mega Effects Mascara. Now I buy my AVON products from a lady back in my hometown, but I know you can also purchase them online. I love this mascara! It definitely gives my sad little natural lashes some hope. It’s gives lashes both a longer and more voluminous look to them. It’s a great long wear mascara, that leaves lashes darker, and more dramatic. The brush for this mascara is unlike any I’ve ever seen. It’s almost like a little paint brush. It’s got firm bristles of many different lengths and widths, ensuring that every lash is covered. It also is great because it has a curve that follows your eye curve, and it can be moved to get a better angle. There are no issues with clumping either with this brush, no need to worry about spider lashes. This is definitely one of my favorite mascaras. AVON has a lot of great products, for really great prices, and there’s almost always some sort of special offer or deal.

IMG_1002-2My next product I will be discussing is one of the most ingenious inventions ever. It’s super weird, but also works really well, especially for someone like me. If you’ve ever had the issue of getting mascara on either your top lid, or underneath your eye, then this product is for you! This product is the E.L.F. Studio Mascara & Shadow Shield. I picked mine up at Target, but obviously you can find it at E.L.F. online as well. This little silicone piece is designed to help shield against mascara smears and/or shadow smudges or fallout. It works both under the eye and over the eye. It just makes applying your eye makeup a lot more simple and mess free. I think it’s a really great product for people of every level of makeup skills.

11949535_10155930163300543_968248333_n-2-2And last, but certainly not least I am going to discuss my Revive makeup sponge. I linked them from Amazon, but I bought mine at TJ Maxx where they were also only $3.99 or $4.99 instead of $8.99. I bought this sponge without any prior knowledge of how well it would work. However, I have discovered that I really love this makeup sponge. Now that I’ve had it for some time I’ve done a little research and found out it’s a great dupe for the Beauty Blender sponges, especially when it’s damp. Apparently it’s not quite as good when dry, but I personally only use mine damp. A couple of the other differences I’ve heard are that the Revive sponge is a bit wider, and is a bit more dense, not as pliable. I’ve never used a real Beauty Blender, I haven’t been able to justify spending $20 on a sponge. However, I would like to try one out some day. For now my Revive makeup sponge works just great. It’s held up really well, I’ve been using it since this last winter. I have heard that Beauty Blenders have a little longer wear, but I can buy 4 or 5 of the Revive sponges for the price of one Beauty Blender. And like I already said, the wear has been great, I’ve been using it for probably about 6-7 months, and I use it almost every day. It still works amazing, and it’s not ripping or falling apart at all. I have tried out other sponges, one of them being the off brand one from Target, I definitely did not like it as much as the Revive sponge. It was much more coarse and it just didn’t apply the product as nicely as my Revive sponge has. I would encourage you to try this dupe, especially those of you who have used Beauty Blenders and let me know what you think!

When shopping online don’t forget to use Ebates for cash back at hundreds of stores including all of the ones mentioned in this blog post! It’s free to sign up, and you get exclusive deals and coupons as well! Also, if you use my link you’ll not only get a $10 gift card for signing up, but you’ll also automatically receive $5 cash back after your first purchase through Ebates!  I hope you enjoyed my first favorites post. I’ve already have an idea of what my theme will be for next month! I can’t wait to share with you!

Rebecca Lee ❤